Pioneer of the Year

Established May 11, 1897 - Incorporated 1924

1986 Pioneer of the Year

Previous Award Recipients

Wilfred "Bill" Anfang

A new award, "Minnesota Territorial Pioneer of the Year" was given to Bill Anfang at the Annual Meeting of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers. The award was presented in recognition of his many years of dedicated service to the Organization.

He joined the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers in 1949 and served on the Board of Directors from 1965 to 1981 when he retired.  He was president from 1965-1967.  When he began his term as president there was only $17.05 in the treasury.  To help improve the financial status of the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers, he purchased items at his own expense to sell at the State Fair in the Log Cabin.  For many years Mr. Anfang has checked the credentials of applicants for membership in the MTP.

During the difficult times, he was a stabilizing influence with his calmness, wise counsel, good humor and willingness to work hard for the Organization.  Because of this he was called "Mr. Territorial Pioneer."

It is fitting that he should have received this honor in recognition of his many contributions to the Minnesota Territorial Pioneers.

The Minnesota

​Territorial Pioneers